Dhoni’s Supershow take CSK to IPL finals

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: Dhoni's supershow take CSK to IPL 2021 Finals, beat Delhi Capitals by 4 Wickets
CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: Dhoni’s supershow take CSK to IPL 2021 Finals, beat Delhi Capitals by 4 Wickets

CSK beat DC Highlights – Dhoni Supershow, CSK Enters IPL Finals: Ruturaj Gaikwad and Robin Uthappa smashed respective fifties before skipper MS Dhoni’s cameo fired Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 final here at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.CSK defeated Delhi Capitals by four wickets in Qualifier 1 as Dhoni played Dhoni’s innings  to score 18 of 6 balls and finished off the match in style in last over – Follow IPL 2021 LIVE Updates on InsideSport.in

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: Dhoni’s supershow take CSK to IPL 2021 Finals, beat Delhi Capitals by 4 Wickets

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: In the last two overs, CSK needed 24 runs but Avesh Khan dismissed set batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad on the first ball. Dhoni whacked a six and match came down to 12 needed off the last six balls.

Also Read: DC vs CSK, IPL 2021 Qualifier: Ruturaj Gaikwad redefines consistency with another fifty; completes 600+ runs

In the final over, Tom Curran removed Moeen Ali but Dhoni held the nerves to seal the CSK spot in the final. Chasing 173, CSK got off to a bad start as Anrich Nortje removed in-form opening batsman Faf du Plessis in the first over.

Also Read: DC vs CSK, IPL 2021 Qualifier: Gambhir’s prediction comes true as Robin Uthappa delivers for CSK, smashes quickfire fifty

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: But Robin Uthappa along with Ruturaj Gaikwad launched a counterattack and took CSK to 59/1 in the first six overs. The duo continued their fine form and brought up the 100-run partnership with both batsmen smashing respective half-centuries.

Also Read: DC vs CSK in IPL 2021 Qualifier: MS Dhoni fumes in anger at Dwayne Bravo’s misfield- Watch rare video

However, in order to go for a six, Uthappa holed out to Shreyas Iyer in the deep in the 14th over. Iyer kept his nerve to complete the catch as he stepped in and out of the boundary.
Uthappa’s wicket triggered a middle-order collapse Shardul Thakur and Ambati Rayudu departed in quick succession leaving CSK at 119/4.

Also Read: DC vs CSK in IPL 2021 Qualifier: Rishabh Pant’s one-handed SIX breaks the Internet- Watch video

In the end, Dhoni sealed the deal for CSK as the side entered the final with a four-wicket win over Delhi Capitals.

Earlier, Prithvi Shaw’s stylish fifty and skipper Rishabh Pant late half-century helped Delhi Capitals post 172/5 against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Qualifier 1.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Ruturaj Gaikwad completes 600 runs, Rishabh Pant in top 10- Follow LIVE updates

Delhi Capitals were 80/4 in the 11th before Pant and Shimron Hetmyer stitched an 83-run stand for the fifth wicket to revive the innings. In the last three overs, Delhi Capitals scored 31 runs to get over the 170-run mark Put in to bat first, Delhi Capitals got off to a flying start as Prithvi Shaw helped the side reach 36 in three overs.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Purple Cap Race: Harshal Patel holds Purple Cap, Avesh Khan fails to reduce deficit- Follow LIVE Updates

Josh Hazlewood removed Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer in the fourth and sixth over respectively but that didn’t dent Shaw’s hopes as he kept smashing boundaries at regular intervals. CSK skipper MS Dhoni also dropped Shaw when he was on 42.

Also Read: DC vs CSK in IPL 2021 Qualifier: Prithvi Shaw delivers in playoffs, smashes quickfire fifty; enters Orange Cap race

Meanwhile, Axar Patel was sent to bat at number four but he failed to leave a mark. Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Shaw in the 11th over (80/4) after he smashed a well made fifty. From there on, Pant and Hetmyer started building Delhi Capitals innings as the duo played risk-free shots.

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: The duo stitched an 83-run stand for the fifth wicket to help Delhi Capitals revive their innings. The side scored 172 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

DC vs CSK Qualifier 1 Live Score

Chennai Super Kings Innings 173/6 (19.4 ov)

Delhi Capitals Innings 172/5 (20 ov)

Stats Alert

  1. This is MS Dhoni’s 150th Toss win in T20 Cricket.
  2. Rishabh Pant is the youngest ever to lead a side in IPL PLay-Offs.
  3. MS Dhoni is the second oldest captain in IPL PLay-Offs behind Rahul Dravid
  4. CSK will be happy to chase as they have chased five matches this season and have won all five.
  5. Another factor going in CSK’s favour is that each of the last seven games in Dubai has been won by the chasing side.

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: Toss Report

Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to field first against Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 1 of the IPL 2021 here at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai on Sunday. CSK are going with the same team while DC have made just one change in their playing XI with Tom Curran getting a game and Ripal Patel missing out. CSK went on to finish second in the points table while Delhi Capitals have topped the tally. The Dhoni-led side won five matches in the India leg of the tournament and followed it up by winning four in the UAE leg.

Both team captain at the toss

Rishabh Pant – We are fine with the toss, but we’d have bowled first. Slightly nervous, but it’s part and parcel of the game. One change for us – Ripal Patel goes out, Tom Curran comes in. When you win games, the confidence level is high, but we’ll not take the match lightly.

MS Dhoni – We will bowl. Whatever games we have played so far, the guys felt there was a bit of help for the seamers initially, it’s a tough wicket, but it could get better later on. We try to keep it simple, irrespective of any game. We analyse our shortcomings and it has helped us. We’re playing the same eleven.


Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Shreyas Iyer, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tom Curran, Avesh Khan, Anrich Nortje

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Pitch Report

Today there is a shorter and longer boundary square. 62 one way, 74 the other. Haydos is here. What do you see? I see a better surface than the one Delhi Capitals went down on (against RCB). There is less grass, it is nice and dry. But the cracks haven’t come into play because this is only the third time we are using this pitch.

CSK beat DC Highlights IPL 2021: 160 is the score, but if the middle order gets going 170 is an option. Four captains have decided to bat first and only one of them was successful. The other seven have decided to chase off which five have been successful. Chasing seems to be the way here and that’s because the pitch doesn’t change much.

Source link