Wimbledon to ban Russian and Belarusian players over Ukraine invasion | Tennis

Wimbledon organisers are to announce a full ban of all players from Russia and Belarus at this year’s championships.

The move will mean world No 2 Daniil Medvedev and the former world No 1 Victoria Azarenka will not be competing at the All England Club this summer because of the invasion of Ukraine.

The tournament will be the first to suspend players from the countries. Currently they are allowed to play on the ATP and WTA tours as neutral athletes, and have been allowed to put their names on the entry list for next month’s French Open.

Quick Guide

How do I sign up for sport breaking news alerts?


  • Download the Guardian app from the iOS App Store on iPhones or the Google Play store on Android phones by searching for ‘The Guardian’.
  • If you already have the Guardian app, make sure you’re on the most recent version.
  • In the Guardian app, tap the yellow button at the bottom right, then go to Settings (the gear icon), then Notifications.
  • Turn on sport notifications.

Thank you for your feedback.

There are four Russian men in the top 30 and two in the top 10, the currently injured Medvedev (ranked 2) and Andrey Rublev (8). There are two Belarusian women players in the top 20 including last year’s Wimbledon semi-finalist Aryna Sabalenka (current world No 4), and one Russian, Anastasia Pavluychenkova.

Source link